New here? Sign Up Have an account?

Academic (ecologist) in search of outdoorsy, loving, professional woman

I am an active, recently widowed academic (field ecologist and conservation biologist) who is beginning to recover from the immense loss of an amazing lover and soulmate who was also an academic, though in a different field from mine. I am looking for someone who understands my slightly odd lifestyle (traveling to exotic places to work), who is intellectually vibrant and loving, who treasures and enjoys a close relationship with the natural world and might with me as well, is politically progressive, and who also prizes good music, good food, and definitely great lovemaking- a true hedonist and realist who is joined in the battle to make the world a better place. Though lonely and brokenhearted I've begun to work again, and am ready to explore partner possibilities in all dimensions...if cautiously. I'm physiologically young for my chronological age, but it isn't as if I haven't faced death in the face several times and I bear the inner scars. I am generally easy-going, upbeat, and funny but have little tolerance for engagement with the supernatural or woo in any form. I am not perfectly fit, but I can get around in jungles and on coral reefs. I am a deeply spiritual but nonreligious ***, and while religion isn't necessarily a dealbreaker, it is easier if I do not have to explain what being Jewish is about, or defend my Spinozan view of the world. I love women and think that doing so is an excellent use of time, but mostly through serial monogamy; I am faithful and expect the same. I love out of door, in the forest, and water-related activities. If SCUBA diving weren't essential to my profession, I would be doing it for pleasure; I also enjoy hiking, fishing, boating, and just learning about and relishing nature. In the winter I like to re-learn how to ski if I happen to be where there is snow. Otherwise I follow the birds back to warmth on the breath of a professional excuse to do so. Can't say I'm rich, but I am financially secure and comfortable, and am looking for someone in a similar position.

Sign Up 100% FREE to Get In Touch

Join Free Here

My Jewish Preferences

How often do you go to synagogue?Sometimes

Appearance

EthnicityCaucasian / White
National heritageAmerican
BuildA few extra pounds
Height5' 8" (173 cm)
Eye ColorBlue
Hair ColorBrown
Hair LengthNeck length
Facial HairBeard
Best featureArms
Body ArtNone
My AttractivenessAverage

Situation

Relationship StatusWidowed
Has childrenOne
Wants kidsNot sure
Housing SituationAll is calm
Living ArrangementsAlone
Wants to RelocateNo
Have PetsFish
Has a carYes

Education & Employment

EducationUniversity Doctorate
SpecialtyResearch / Science / Engineering
Employment StatusFull-time
Annual income$100,000 - $250,000
Job TitleProfessor of Biology

Leisure & Fun

TV preferencesNews, Documentaries, Dramas, Movies, Sports, Re-runs, Science fiction
Favorite TV showsNetflix special series
Favorite movies typesAction, Science fiction, Comedy, Romance, Drama, Documentary, Animation
Favorite moviesOh, man. A lot of them.
Music typesCountry, Rock, Pop, Classical, Blues, Jazz, Latin, Soul, Reggae, Folk
Favorite artistsPicasso, Monet, Matisse, Van Gogh
Reading selectionBiography, Comic, Fiction, History, Mathematics, Nature, Political, Satire, Science, Science fiction, Technical, I'm an author
Favorite booksAnything by John Fowles, Kim Stanley Robinson, Carl Hiassen, many others.
Idea of funHiking, diving, fishing, birdwatching, some games, travel, intellectual or silly conversation. Plus other stuff, especially one particular kind of other stuff.
HobbiesReading, Music, Photography, Fishing

Personality

SmokerDon't smoke
DrinkingLight / social drinker
Social behaviorOutgoing
Friends describe asTroublemaker
In High School I was a(n)Nerd
Sense of humorGoofy
My great timeHanging out with friends, Staying at home, Trying new things, The movies, Reading a book, Going to a concert, Going to a museum
Always wanted to tryRock climbing (try more actually), soaring (tried for a while), learning to speak French properly, understanding Hebrew not just sounding it out.

Views

Political viewsLiberal
ReligionJewish
Attend religious servicesOn holidays
Goal in lifeComplete and synthesize my crazy ambitious projects, communicate the wonder of what we've found, bring my science to where it actually helps people in the long run, and to love again as I had with one incredible woman for half a lifetime...if that isn't asking too much.

Looking For

Must haveIntelligence, Good Looks, Humor, Empathy, Sensitivity, Boldness, Spontaneity, Flirtatiousness, Wit, Thoughtfullness
Look for in a partnerEquality. Common value system. Powerful motivation to do good. Ability to love unconditionally.
On the first dateFirst dates should be simple and unthreatening. It's the later dates that any potential partner of mine would need to watch out for.